top of page
My Top Picks:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Natural Hair Staple Products

Every natural has to have some staple products. Those that are multiple buys because they deserve a permanent place in your bathroom and on your shelf. These are mine as well as products showing so much promise to become my regulars.

1. Cantu Leave In Conditioner. My hair LOVES this product. It's been my favourite from when I chose to be natural i.e. my transitioning days and has been great through the natural journey including recovering my hair from heat damage.

2. Tresemme Naturals! Yes, this is now a dis-continued line but I bought extra before it sold out so that my natural life wouldn't change. LOL. Not sure what will replace this by the way.

3. Organics Hair Mayonnaise. This is my number one protein treatment. It was actually a product I used when my hair was still relaxed and I still use despite the mineral oil and not so natural ingredients list. However, I strongly advocate for using what works and this products works for me.

Snapshot of my Natural Hair Staple Products

4. Coconut oil. The first oil listed and with good reason! It is light to the touch which is great for fine strands of hair like mine and it absorbs easily. I also use it for my skin with increasing frequency.

5. Olive Oil. The wonder oil. It is a very close second oil if not co-first choice oil. This oil helps add shine and strength to my locks and was a huge reason why I stopped using off the shelf products with petroleum extracts. I recommend it to absolutely everyone. Also can be used on skin.

6. Castor oil. This is a great oil for re-growing edges and generally strengthening hair. Beware of how thick it is though. I rarely use it alone. It is usually mixed with water or my other oils because is makes my hair feel sticky and my scalp quite greasy by the end of the week.

The Coming Uppers :) ... Well, I think I will tackle this in another post. Needless to say that introducing a few good products at a time can be beneficial but isn't necessary if what you have works!

Happy Hair Days!

Related Posts

See All
Stay In The Know:
bottom of page