top of page
My Top Picks:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

Forever Young

Our obsession with youth isn't limited to anti-aging creams, botox or face lifts. It's in the subtleties of how we choose to dress, how we act and the slight nervousness that we have when someone asks "how old are you?"

I'm certainly not exempt to thinking, "is that a line I see under my eyes?" "What will I look like when I'm 40?"

Cellulite!!! *angry face* LOL. How can we get rid of it?!

It seems that on the silver screen everyday, on the big screen most times and in magazines predominately, the ideal standard of beauty age-wise is somewhere between 17 and 25. We can't slow down the march of time, we can however look after ourselves. Be the best version of you possible. WE SHOULDN'T HAVE TO LOOK YOUNG OUR WHOLE LIVES! That is not only unnatural, but I'm sure for those who try, it is exhausting.

Whether your beauty standards are your own or like most people are a combination of society, media and your opinions, the key is to be realistic no matter your ambitions. I personally think that most cosmetic surgery is rather unnecessary not to mention expensive. I am more about some home facials and a basic routine to keep my skin in particular, looking it's best. Working out and being observant of what we eat is also a proactive way to fight disease and also some of the effects of aging.

What I oppose is spending a fortune not for medical reasons but purely to achieve a certain look. Why go through so much for something that doesn't last? I know that some like the attention or the compliments. For me, these observations are simply social commentary, though we should be aware that many root causes for wanting or seemingly needing these things is not usually healthy. Scratch below the surface and a lot of people who are altering their skin tone or their body are profoundly uncomfortable about how they look. So next time you are confronted with a seemingly flawless image of someone, think twice about what it might take to look that way.

"I have the right to do anything," you say--but not everything is beneficial. "I have the right to do anything"--but not everything is constructive.

1st Corinthians 10:23 [NIV]

Related Posts

See All
Stay In The Know:
bottom of page