top of page
My Top Picks:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.

1 YEAR REVIEW - GROWING NATURAL HAIR

The end of the year is a great time to reflect. See what has happened and assess what went right and what didn't. My hair was definitely something that went right in 2018. It was great to reach and exceed certain goals.

See the photos and some TIPS on how to reach your own hair goals in 2019.

1. Set Hair Boundaries. If like me, you look for motivation blogs and videos online, it's important for you to know your own hair well enough to know what it can take and what it cannot. For me that means even when I see straightened natural hair and I love how it looks, I tell myself...that's great but it's not for me. The same applies to hair dye and even certain hair styles. Have some "can do's" and some "no go areas" when it comes to your hair.

2. Don't be afraid to try new things once in a while. Most bloggers on natural hair will advise you to try one new thing at a time. I totally agree. This is particularly true for products to see how your hair reacts but can apply to hair tools, hair styles and new routines too.

3. Set realistic time frames to see results. Assuming you now know what your hair likes, you keep your hair moisturized, minimize breakage and manage to retain length, then you should see yours goals for healthy hair or for longer hair achieved. Do the basics well. If your problem area is thriving at one of these basic hair requirements, I suggest carrying out some research on what works for people with hair similar to yours then trying to make some adjustments to your routine.

Finally my goal this year was not to use any direct heat on my hair and to grow it to around APL (Arm Pit Length). I managed to do both and in fact have exceeded APL and now at the top of BSL (Bra Strap Length). I believe this has been due to regular washing and deep conditioning as well as protective styling for majority of the year.

CLICK ON THE TAGS (HASHTAGS) BELOW FOR MORE INSPIRATIONAL STORIES!

Related Posts

See All
Stay In The Know:
bottom of page